Thursday, December 8, 2022

Vitality Roses: Jess Thirlby promotes young talent in 2022-23 England programme | Netball News

Funmi Fadoju, Zara Everitt and Olivia Tchine are all elevated from the Futures programme into the primary full-time squad, Ellie Ratu and Alice Harvey are named as senior Roses for the primary time; key skilled returnees embrace Helen Housby, Jo Harten, Layla Guscoth and Nat Metcalf

Final Up to date: 03/05/22 9:02am

Funmi Fadoju is promoted from the Futures programme into Jess Thirlby's main squad (Image credit: Ben Lumley)

Funmi Fadoju is promoted from the Futures programme into Jess Thirlby’s primary squad (Picture credit score: Ben Lumley)

Jess Thirlby has rewarded England’s in-form and proficient young athletes when naming her 24-strong Vitality Roses full-time squad.

Funmi Fadoju, Zara Everitt and Olivia Tchine, who had been a part of the ‘Roses Futures’ programme final season, are elevated into Thirlby’s primary squad.

Ellie Ratu, their membership team-mate at London Pulse, and Loughborough Lightning’s Alice Harvey are each named in the senior programme for the primary time, as Thirlby highlights the energy in depth which has fashioned in English netball.

Eboni Usoro-Brown returns after the start of her daughter and different key returnees embrace Jo Harten, Helen Housby, Nat Metcalf, Layla Guscoth and Geva Mentor.

It’s the first squad named by Thirlby because the retirement of England captain Serena Guthrie. The season contains this summer time’s residence Commonwealth Video games and leads in direction of subsequent yr’s Netball World Cup.

Vitality Roses programme – 2022-23 worldwide season

Imogen Allison Eleanor Cardwell Ella Clark
Jade Clarke Beth Cobden Sophie Drakeford-Lewis
Zara Everitt Funmi Fadoju George Fisher
Stacey Francis-Bayman Layla Guscoth Jo Harten
Alice Harvey Helen Housby Hannah Joseph
Laura Malcolm Geva Mentor Nat Metcalf
Nat Panagarry Razia Quashie Ellie Ratu
Olivia Tchine Eboni Usoso-Brown Fran Williams

In whole, 18 out of the 24 athletes chosen are primarily based in the UK and play in the Vitality Netball Superleague, the remaining six play their home netball in the Suncorp Tremendous Netball or the ANZ Premiership.

The Vitality Roses programme runs over 12 months and is made up of UK-based coaching camps and aggressive alternatives at residence and abroad, in addition to in-club assist for the gamers in the course of the home seasons.

Zara Everitt, Olivia Tchine and Funmi Fadoju transfer from being Roses Futures athletes into the primary programme.

Alice Harvey and Ellie Ratu are named as senior Vitality Roses for the primary time in their careers. Rhea Dixon strikes into Roses Futures programme.

Eboni Usoro-Brown returns to the programme following the start of her daughter and is considered one of six abroad athletes chosen.

Gabriella Marshall, Halimat Adio, Vicki Oyesola and Chelsea Pitman not named, after being a part of 2021-22 programme.

“I need to thank and congratulate all the athletes on their inclusion, the home golf equipment each residence and abroad and our Roses Academy for serving to to permit these athletes to shine,” Thirlby stated.

Alice Harvey is named in the squad for the first time after representing England at U19 and U21 level (Image credit: Ben Lumley)

Alice Harvey is called in the squad for the primary time after representing England at U19 and U21 stage (Picture credit score: Ben Lumley)

“To have 100 per cent take-up of the presents made to athletes for this upcoming yr speaks to the need of individuals desirous to be part of it and signify the Roses, in addition to the tradition and surroundings that has strengthened over the previous few years.

“Not solely can we see plenty of our vastly skilled and acquainted names retain their locations in an more and more aggressive programme, but in addition new talent being acknowledged for his or her continued rise inside their home competitions,” Thirlby continued.

“To see athletes additionally graduate from our Futures programme and be elevated into the Roses for the primary time is testomony that our methods are working effectively and we stay up for supporting these athletes who’re transitioning.”

Roses Futures programme – 2022-23 worldwide season

Ella Bowen Amy Carter Rhea Dixon
Brie Grierson Suzie Liverseidge Taylor McKevitt
Berri Neil Tash Pavelin Lois Pearson
Jayda Pechova Paige Reed Kira Rothwell
Millie Sanders Alicia Scholes Emma Thacker
Aliyah Zaranyika

Thirlby has chosen 16 athletes in an enhanced ‘Roses Futures’ programme, which this yr has been designed with the particular goal of making ready a cohort of athletes to be ‘Roses-ready’ after the 2023 Netball World Cup.

The programme seeks to maximise gamers’ preparation and conditioning and subsequently develop them in direction of the Roses programme, by publicity to high-level coaching and worldwide match-play expertise.

The Future Roses programme additionally helps these gamers with twin careers, both present process full-time schooling or working, alongside a dedication to creating as a participant inside the Roses set-up.

The worldwide competitors calendar remains to be to be confirmed, as England Netball look to construct into this yr’s Commonwealth Video games and the 2023 World Cup in South Africa.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles