Friday, December 2, 2022

McWhorter Scholar-Athletes Of The Year Announced

3 hours in the past
SEC Employees

Photograph: Southeastern Convention

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (Might 3, 2022) – Mississippi State soccer workforce member Austin Williams and Lisa Gunnarsson of the LSU ladies’s observe & area workforce have been named the 2021-22 Southeastern Convention H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athletes of the Year, Commissioner Greg Sankey introduced on Tuesday.

The two had been chosen by a committee of School Athletics Representatives from SEC universities and every will obtain a $20,000 post-graduate scholarship.

“We congratulate Austin and Lisa as they’re excellent representatives of student-athletes from throughout the SEC. These younger persons are dedicated to the full student-athlete expertise, and it’s mirrored within the elite degree of their tutorial and athletics accomplishments.,” Sankey stated. “The H. Boyd McWhorter Award is the best honor earned by a student-athlete within the SEC and I congratulate each of them together with their households and universities on their excellent achievements.”

The McWhorter Award provides to an extended checklist of educational and athletic achievements for Williams, a local of Ocean Springs, Miss. Williams, who holds an undergraduate diploma in enterprise administration/finance, in addition to a grasp’s in enterprise administration, maintained an ideal 4.0 GPA all through his time at Mississippi State. A two-time CoSIDA First Crew Tutorial All-American, Williams was named a semifinalist in 2021 for each the Wuerffel Trophy and Jason Witten Man of the Year. Williams additionally represented the Bulldogs on the 2021 SEC Group Service workforce.

Williams was chosen to the MSU Soccer Management Council by his teammates in each 2020 and 2021, in addition to workforce captain for Mississippi State in the course of the 2021 soccer season.

A starter in 12 video games in 2021, Williams owns the bottom drop fee for a large receiver within the SEC since 2019 at 0.9 %. He has performed in 50 video games throughout his profession, amassing 116 receptions for 1245 yards and 12 touchdowns. He produced season highs for profession in catches (52), yards (617) and TD (4) in 2021.

Gunnarsson has loved immense success each within the area of competitors and within the classroom. A local of Paris, France, she was named the 2021 SEC Outside Scholar Athlete of the Year, in addition to the USTFCCCA Indoor & Outside Scholar Athlete of the Year. She additionally earned CoSIDA First Crew Tutorial All-American honors in each 2020 and 2021.

A mechanical engineering main with a 4.16 GPA, she is a six-time honoree on the LSU President’s Honor Roll and three-time member of the SEC Tutorial Honor Roll.

Within the area of play, Gunnarsson is a two-time NCAA Champion within the indoor pole vault (2021) and outside pole vault (2021). Her lifetime finest clearance of 15′ 3″ (4.65 meters) on the 2022 Texas Relays is the same as the fourth finest mark in collegiate historical past within the pole vault outdoor.

She is a former SEC Indoor Champion within the pole vault (2020), a six-time All-American and four-time All-SEC performer.

The 13 different male finalists: Tyler Sesvold, Alabama (Swimming & Diving); Jacob Nesbit, Arkansas (Baseball); Nick Brahms, Auburn (Soccer); Samuel Riffice, Florida (Tennis); Ben Anderson, Georgia (Baseball); Brock Lindow, Kentucky (Soccer); Avery Atkins, LSU (Soccer); Simon Junk, Ole Miss (Tennis); John Dubois, Missouri (Swimming); Daniel Rodrigues, South Carolina (Tennis); Logan Steenstra, Tennessee (Baseball); Peter Simmons, Texas A&M (Swimming); Harrison Smith, Vanderbilt (Soccer).

The 13 different feminine finalists: Polly Mack, Alabama (Golf); Margaret O’Hara, Arkansas (Gymnastics); Keria McCarrell, Auburn (Cross Nation/Monitor & Discipline); Halley Taylor, Florida (Gymnastics); Samantha Drop, Georgia (Monitor & Discipline); Abby Steiner, Kentucky (Monitor & Discipline); Haleigh Stackpole, Ole Miss (Soccer); Mia Davidson-Smith, Mississippi State (Softball); Brooke Wilmes, Missouri (Softball); Courtney Weber, South Carolina (Volleyball); Hannah Jefcoat, Tennessee (Cross Nation/Monitor & Discipline); Macie Kolb, Texas A&M (Soccer); Raegan Kelley, Vanderbilt (Soccer).

Previous recipients:

1986 – John Younger, Tennessee (observe) and Virginia Diederich, Georgia (swimming)

1987 – Jeff Noblin, Ole Miss (soccer) and Julie Estin, Alabama (gymnastics)

1988 – Danny Hoskins, Ole Miss (soccer) and Linda Leith, Georgia (swimming)

1989 – Mikael Olander, LSU (observe) and Deanne Burnett, Georgia (swimming)

1990 – Burke Masters, Mississippi State (baseball) and Janice Kerr, Florida (gymnastics)

1991 – Al Parker, Georgia (tennis) and Patty Wiegand, Tennessee (observe and cross nation)

1992 – Jeff Laubenthal, Alabama (baseball) and Jenifer Kleyn, Auburn (volleyball)

1993 – Lang Wiseman, Tennessee (basketball) and Aimee York, Mississippi State (volleyball)

1994 – Peter Duitsman, South Carolina (soccer) and Tammy Newlon, Mississippi State (basketball)

1995 – Michael Blanchard, LSU (soccer) and April Ecke, Mississippi State (cross nation)

1996 – Martin Nyberg, LSU (swimming) and Michelle Palmisano, Vanderbilt (basketball)

1997 – Andrew DeVooght, Georgia (swimming) and Meredith Willard, Alabama (gymnastics)

1998 – Jeremy Jackson, Mississippi State (baseball) and Shani Abshier, South Carolina (volleyball)

1999 – Jeff Zurcher, Kentucky (soccer) and Jessica Discipline, Arkansas (volleyball)

2000 – Joey Pitts, Georgia (tennis) and Lisette Lee, LSU (golf)

2001 – Scott Westerfield, Mississippi State (soccer) and Kim Black, Georgia (swimming)

2002 – Trey Dyson, South Carolina (baseball) and Tiffany Woolley, Arkansas (softball)

2003 – Matt Bonner, Florida (basketball) and Kristin Sterner, Alabama (gymnastics)

2004 – Caesar Garcia, Auburn (swimming & diving) and Lauren Imwalle, Alabama (soccer)

2005 – Rob Robertson, Ole Miss (soccer) and Lauryn McCalley, Tennessee (swimming & diving)

2006 – Rudy Niswanger, LSU (soccer) and Sarah Lowe, Florida (basketball)

2007 – Emeel Salem, Alabama (baseball) and Erika Schneble, Vanderbilt (observe & area)

2008 – Joseph Sykora, Alabama (golf) and Kristen Hastrup, Auburn (swimming & diving)

2009 – Bram ten Berge, Ole Miss (tennis) and Christine Magnuson, Tennessee (swimming & diving)

2010 – Jordan Anderson, Auburn (swimming & diving) and Phoebe Wright, Tennessee (observe & area)

2011 – Dan Mazzaferro, Auburn (swimming & diving) and Erica Meissner, Auburn (swimming & diving)

2012 – Michael Roth, South Carolina (baseball) and Wendy Trott, Georgia (swimming & diving)

2013 – Barrett Jones, Alabama (soccer) and Chelsea Oswald, Kentucky (observe & area/cross nation)

2014 – Cory Whitsett, Alabama (golf) and Shannon Vreeland, Georgia (swimming)

2015 – Nathanael Franks, Arkansas (observe & area) and Maddie Locus, Georgia (swimming)

2016 – Forrest Gamble, Ole Miss (golf) and Haylie McCleney, Alabama (softball)

2017 – Anton McKee, Alabama (swimming) and Sarah Gibson, Texas A&M (swimming)

2018 – Parker Henry, Tennessee (soccer) and Kelly Quinn, LSU (volleyball)

2019 – Nathan Hite, Texas A&M (observe & area) and Kristin Quah, Vanderbilt (bowling)

2020 – Skylar Mays, LSU (basketball) and Asia Seidt, Kentucky (swimming)

2021 – Jon Bishop, Texas A&M (observe & area) and Savanna Faulconer, Florida (swimming)

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles